Houston Comets

The Houston Comets were a professional women's basketball team established in 1997. They were one of the original eight teams of the WNBA.  

The Comets were owned by the Houston Rockets' owner, Leslie Alexander. They played their home games at the Compact Center, formerly known as the Summit.  

The Comets won the first four WNBA championships. They're also tied with two other teams in terms of the number of championships won. The Comets are the only WNBA team to have a four-peat and they've never lost a game in the finals.  

Despite all of their success, the team was disbanded by the league in 2008 during the height of the Great Recession because new ownership could not be found.

{"email":"Email address invalid","url":"Website address invalid","required":"Required field missing"}

Get in touch

0 of 350